CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 05-30-2010, 01:53 PM   #1
Mikhail Rubinshteyn

Profile:
Programming For Strength Advice

Hi Guys,

I have been doing Crossfit at a local affiliate 3x a week for 3 months. I love it! I have made lots of gains and really enjoy and look forward to working out with my coaches and like most folks, love the community feel and the friends I make.

However, I am extremely lacking on my squats and deadlifts-- admittedly never having done lower body workouts until I started doing this three months ago.

Outside of my affiliate, I have access to a power cage with olympic bumper set, rings, a 1 pood KB, a pullup bar (I cannot kip there due to the stability of the cage though), and a dip belt.

My numbers are as follows

6 Foot, 200 Lbs 26 years old

BS ~ 150
OHS ~ 100
DL ~ 200
Bench ~200
Shoulder Press ~ 120
Strict Chins~ 15

So yeah, I can definitely see I have an extremely undeveloped lower body.

I want to add two strength workouts to my 3x a week Crossfit. Quitting Crossfit and doing SS is not an option for me right now, and SS + 3x a week Crossfit is not going to be realistic.

I was considering Pavels' PTTP using Deadlifts and Squats or a 5x5 Strong LIfts two times a week, with increasing weights per set, so I can warm up to high weights. I know there are at least a few folks doing something like this here, so please let me know what works for you. THANKS!
Old 05-30-2010, 02:00 PM   #2
Brad Rasmussen

Profile:
Re: Programming For Strength Advice

Check out the crossfit strength bias (cfsb) thread at the top of this forum. It focuses on squats, deadlift, front squats, and shoulder press along with metcons. It's been working great for me. Crossfit Football is another good option.