CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 01-19-2010, 08:31 PM   #1
Aidan Macdonald

Profile:
24 Hour fitness and Bumper plates

I am going to do SS at a 24 hour fitness with a friend. I haven't been their yet but apparently they use octagonal plates which are annoying. would it be a good investment to purchase 2 5# bumper plates to fix the stop signs on a bar.

And I am a student so ... how much would they cost? (for cheap ones)
Old 01-19-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
Jeremy Galo

Profile:
Re: 24 Hour fitness and Bumper plates

5lb bumper plates would probably just get destroyed as soon as you start adding all that weight for deadlifts. No real reason to bother in my opinion. Besides, you would probably need to measure the long diagonal on the octagon to see if a normal sized round plate (17.7" I believe) is even big enough..
Old 01-19-2010, 09:10 PM   #3
Robert Britt Freund

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Galo View Post
5lb bumper plates would probably just get destroyed as soon as you start adding all that weight for deadlifts. No real reason to bother in my opinion. Besides, you would probably need to measure the long diagonal on the octagon to see if a normal sized round plate (17.7" I believe) is even big enough..
I gotta go with Jeremy on this one.

I am not even aware of any inexpensive 5 lb bumper plates. The lightest "cheap" bumper plates are 10 lbs and are available from both Hi-Temp and Wright Rubber.

The only 5 lb bumper plates I am familiar with are EXTREMELY expensive Hi-Tech plates (150$/pair).