CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-21-2007, 02:35 AM   #1
Albert Carr

Profile:
Hello all, I am a registered nurse and I work 12 hour night shifts. I have been attempting to complete my WOD after completing my shift(7p-7a)in the am. Most of the time I survive the workout just fine on other days I feel a little disoriented from lack of sleep so my performance is not as great. My question is- will I benefit from CF as much without enough rest before working out? Will I recover from the workouts with only the immediate post-workout meal and then sleep? Also, if anyone else has ever tried training after working a night shift- does your body ever get accustomed to it? Thanks for any input. BTW, I usually wake up at 4:30, so I have been awake for approx. 15 hrs before working out.
Old 07-21-2007, 10:41 AM   #2
Shawn Taylor

Profile:
Well, it depends. How old are you and how much of your youthful recovery ability have you retained as you have aged?

With the exception of some that are from the deep end of the gene pool and age super well,