CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-14-2008, 10:26 AM   #1
Dave Fishbaugh

Profile:
motivating my son

i love cross fit; i've been doing it for 6 months and look and feel the best i've been.

are there any of you with teens who cross fit? if so, what's their motivation.

i have a 13 yo who has himself convinced that he could never be able to do this stuff. if i can show him otherwise, it will go a long way for his self-esteem as well as his health. any advice welcome. thank you.
Old 10-14-2008, 11:13 AM   #2
Kevin Hughes

Profile:
Re: motivating my son

Hi Dave;

Our sons are 16 and 18. They've been CF'ing since Jan. 07. The older one has tailed off a little for work reasons, but his story is remarkable. He was a Jr. Firefighter in our home town and was required to take the same fitness tests as all FF'ers. In his first test, he finished 5th out of 8 kids. He's always been competitive, having played hockey, basketball and tennis, and the test embarrassed him. He resolved to improve and went to an affiliate for his first workout. He met Pukie. We came home that day, re-assessed things, and decided to do the 3 month beginner program. He progressed through that into the 3 on 1 off WOD's, with alot of help from Brand X. After 1 year he absolutely blew away everyone in the Jr. FF program, and most of the regular FF's as well. I think working as hard as he did at CF helped him more than just physically. That year saw him grow in many ways, and he received an award for the most improved Jr. FF overall. It was an amazing transformation, and a great learning experience for him too.