CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 07-23-2007, 05:44 PM   #1
Christine Reinhart

Profile:
I'm relatively new to CrossFit (7 weeks), and my husband just can't seem to understand how I could be hooked on this kind of training. He's tried a couple of workouts, but figured they're not for him (he's a hard-gainer, and worried about losing the mass he has struggled to obtain). He thinks it's unreasonable and unsafe for people to train so intensely that they are on the brink of becoming friends with Pukie. I've offered him literature from the website, but he still isn't convinced that my involvement with CrossFit is a good idea for the long-term. Anybody else have to convince their spouse/partner/family that they're not absolutely crazy for wanting to work this hard, and actually enjoy doing so? What did you do/say to ease their minds? I know how great CrossFit makes me feel, but how can I get him to understand that?

By the way.......my husband is the most caring man in the world, and he just wants to make sure that what I am doing is in the best interest of my long term health. :-)
Old 07-23-2007, 06:01 PM   #2
James R. Climer

Profile:
I'd say let the results speak for themselves,
but that won't give any immediate satisfaction.

Old 07-23-2007, 06:19 PM   #3
Barry Cooper

Profile:
If he's trying to bulk up, then I think if mixes the WOD with lots of heavy lifting, he'll do fine. There are bunches of logs on this board, and a lot of folks do their own thing, based around the WOD.

The whole point is the maintenance of lean body mass. That's the advantage of this versus daily long runs, which are catabolic.