CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-15-2010, 08:49 PM   #1
Bethany Glaser

Profile:
Beginner Weight/Body Composition Fluctuation (and Frustration)

Hi there! I'm brand new to the message Board and relatively new to Crossfit. I am frustrated with what's been going on with my body lately and I'm wondering if other women had similar fluctuations at the beginning of training.

My main goals are to firm up, get back to my 135-140 weight range and most specifically: trim my tummy. It holds the majority of my unwanted fat.

I am currently 152 lbs. Until about 3 years ago I was consistently about 135 lbs and trim, but not very strong. I experienced some extreme personal situations and stress and became inactive, and really let my diet go. (Eating a high sugar and high starch diet). I got up to 164 at my highest. At this weight I was very uncomfortable with my body (I'm 5.8) and in my clothes. Through minimal to moderate exercise and portion control, I lost 10 pounds, along with great strides in emotional health. I started eating Paleo in July at 154 lbs. I'm pretty strict but cheat with a glass of wine or chocolate here and there. I lost 10-12 pounds over about 2.5 months to 142-144. and I have to say was pretty excited. I do limit red meat, or too much meat in general and I make sure there are healthy fats in every meal.