CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-03-2005, 12:27 PM   #1
Fontana Lim

Profile:  
...from a newbie.

I've just recently run across crossfit and I'm pretty pumped to start up the workouts. I've run into a few problems though...

First off is the olympic lifts. I've been lifting weights for a few years (usually compound movements like DL's and squats...) but I've never attempted to try the Olympic lifts because they seemed to be more 'complex' with a greater chance for injury. I've been practicing the movements just with a 45lbs bar, but I'm not sure if I should continue doing this until I have the movements down before starting the WOD's, or if there are any substitution exercises (where I can also keep practicing the lifts on the side).

My second problem has to do with facilities. I know crossfit is a minimalist workout (in terms of equipment), but it's been kinda difficult (for me, anyways) to find a place where I can do 400m sprints and cleans at the same place.

Any help on these 2 problems would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-03-2005, 12:53 PM   #2
Peter Galloway

Profile:

Welcome Fontana!

In answer to your first question, if substitution is needed then just use a variant of the lifts you feel comfortable with - power cleans for example are fairly straightforward. As long as you are careful and pay attention to certain basics (back straight or slightly arched, head up, big chest, push through the heels, snap the hips and jump) you'll be fine. In the meantime, continue to work with the empty bar, perhaps as part of your warm-up, to improve your form. While you're at it, check out Dan John's site, in particular the "Get Up" archives, it's a fantastic resource for quality training info: http://www.danjohn.org/coach