CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 08-05-2012, 02:32 PM   #1
Steven Beckham

Profile:
Donating a kidney

Would there be any major health concerns about doing CrossFit for someone who donated a kidney? I read that high blood pressure could be an issue but would eating paleo be enough to make up for that?
Old 08-05-2012, 03:06 PM   #2
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:
Re: Donating a kidney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Beckham View Post
Would there be any major health concerns about doing CrossFit for someone who donated a kidney? I read that high blood pressure could be an issue but would eating paleo be enough to make up for that?
I can't give a medical answer, but I can tell you that I have been doing Crossfit for nearly three years with just one kidney. I had the other removed when I was a young boy. I haven't experienced any issues in Crossfit that I felt were related to just having the one kidney.

That said, talk to your doc about it. Don't depend on Internet forums and articles.

- Mark
Old 08-05-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
Diane Curtiss

Profile:

I donated a kidney to my husband 5 years ago and have been Crossfitting about a year and a half.

There is a risk to donors of potentially having higher blood pressure, but, in the five years time I have not had that issue. Sometimes I wonder if it is more age than the loss of a kidney.... The best thing you can do is to keep active, eat healthy, and keep a healthy weight. Make sure you ask your assigned coordinator (and they should also have assigned you a donor nephrologist) questions, questions and more questions so you know fully what to expect both after the surgery and in the future.

One thing I have found is that I get dehydrated easier - make sure you have and drink plenty of fluid.