CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-26-2008, 01:56 PM   #1
Bryan Lindquist

Profile:
Cardio and Fat

I'm new to Crossfit and have been spending my time at Gold's learning the exercises.

The other day I walked in and the "Personal Trainers" had written "To Much Cardio Can Make you Gain Fat!" on their little white board.

I don't really know where they get that info. Does anyone know where they might be getting that idea? Seems to me to much cadio would tend to cause muscle mass loss. This would make your fat content look higher but only becaus ethe ratio of fat to muscle has changed.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Bryan
Old 08-26-2008, 02:05 PM   #2
Gant Grimes

Profile:

Re: Cardio and Fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Lindquist View Post
The other day I walked in and the "Personal Trainers" had written "To Much Cardio Can Make you Gain Fat!" on their little white board.

I don't really know where they get that info. Does anyone know where they might be getting that idea?
Wow, kudos to those trainers. You have to take another couple of logical steps to make that statement bear out (as written). However, people who do too much cardio are often fat.

You can get the same info easily. Go observe a step/spin/whatever class. Many of the participants attend religiously, spending 4-5 hours a week in class (on top of 4-5 hours a week of machine/cardio work in the gym). What do they look like? Hell, what do the instructors look like?

Last edited by Gant Grimes : 08-26-2008 at 02:08 PM.
Old 08-26-2008, 02:10 PM   #3
Joe Cavazos

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gant Grimes View Post