CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 12-31-2003, 05:55 AM   #1
Dave P

Profile:  
I am new to Crossfit and incredibly impressed by the quality of the workouts and the people who frequent these boards. I did my first WOD yesterday and have spent the bulk of today looking for the pride that I seem to have lost as a result.

This post is a combination of questions I've had for some time and the post regarding neuroendocrine response. As many of you know Milo of Kroton was said to have gained his strength by lifting a calf every day until it was a full grown cow. I know that in dealing with a story such as this we run into the limitations of the body's potential but I think it is a good starting place for this post.

At what point do we reach a stage of overtraining? I understand that overtraining is a very real concern when dealing with maximal effort for strength but what about an event that is 20% or 30% of maximal effort, something geared more towards muscular endurance? If I were to start walking on my hands as much as I could, all day - every day, would I be overtraining or would my body rapidly adapt until, a year or five down the road, I could walk on my hands all the time? Is it possible to overtrain when we are dealing with muscular endurance instead of muscular strength or is the body able to adapt rapidly to the new demands...such as a toddler gaining the strength to walk.