CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-09-2006, 11:51 PM   #1
Michael Raphael Kelley

Profile:  
Hello I am a Gymnastics coach at Mt. Baker gymnastics the same facility were Skip Chase runs his program.

I am also a traceur a practioner of parkour since last march.

I have done some form of martial art most of my life, and usually played at least one sport recreationally. I started gymnastics 5 years ago when I was 18 but only was able to start training more then once a week in the last year or two. Since I started coaching it. I am about the equivalent of level 7 on the floor somewhere between level 5-6 on the rest of the equipment.

I hit a plateau in my training recently and felt that I had come to a point were my general physical fitness was not sufficient to continue progressing in the specific skills of my chosen disciplines. So I decided to ask skip to start training me with the crossfit methodology.

Strangely enough I was able to bust through the plateau before I started training with skip. Still I started last tuesday and am glad I did so. It made me realize that while my skill development has been progressing mostly consistently for the last year. My conditioning hasn't progressed since august. If am to reach the levels I want to as a Gymnast and traceur I simple have be move to much higher level of fitness.

Skip took me and my freind dane through the crossfit warm up and Cindy though cut down to 10 minutes we both managed 6 rounds. Exhausting.

Looking forward to reaping the rewards of this new conditiong program. I have been reading through the forum and all the available materials so I don't have to many question just yet, but I am working on it. Been very impressed by the level of knowledge here look forward to slowly picking everbody's brains.