CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > In Search of CrossFitters
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

In Search of CrossFitters For finding other CrossFitters to CrossFit with

Old 12-13-2008, 05:51 PM   #1
Kevin Whitlow

Profile:
Austin, Texas crossfitters

New here and just starting into crossfit. Is there anyone in the Austin area that does the workouts outside of the affiliate gym at home
Old 12-15-2008, 09:49 AM   #2
Peter Keller

Profile:
Re: Austin, Texas crossfitters

Welcome, Kevin. I Crossfit mostly at home (and around town, but on my own)- I have a pretty slick garage gym set-up. I also occasionally work out with Crossfit Central and Crossfit Austin.

Can I help you with anything?
Old 12-17-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
Kevin Whitlow

Profile:

I am fairly new to the concept. Due to some budget reasons I have to watch not in the right time to go to one of the great Crossfit centers we have here. I am looking for someone that is accustomed and versed to help starting out.
Old 12-18-2008, 02:18 PM   #4
Peter Keller

Profile:

Glad to help.

First, attend as many of the free sessions at the gyms as you can- you can pick up some great info and training gratis.

FYI, I know Crossfit Central is having a few free days the week after Christmas, and they do at least one free workout a month. Check their website for more info:
http://www.crossfitcentral.com/ WFS

Second, read as much as possible on these boards and of the Crossfit Journal (spring for a $25 yearly membership).

Third, do the workouts! Sub when needed, but watch your form. Form first, then up the intensity.

Fourth, join an affiliate to drastically reduce your "indoctrination" time to the movements. It can be looked at as expensive, but if you attend, it will be a great value for the $$.
Old 12-18-2008, 06:59 PM   #5
Joseph Patrick

Profile: