CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-20-2007, 03:03 PM   #1
Dylan Tate

Profile:
Hi Everybody,

I'm new to cross fit and completed my first WOD yesterday. I did the deadlift, hang clean, front squat, push jerk (from Sunday iirc). I scaled it down to the puppy level and finished in 42 minutes. I think I could have been faster, but I was switching out with my wife and some of my rests were longer than they probably should have been. This leads me to my question, which is more important, being able to do the WOD with the weight rx'd or being able to go through as fast as possible? I'm pretty sure I could have done it with the 95# but it may have taken an hour +.

overall I felt great afterwards, no terrible soreness today, but I'm fearful of what tommorrow morning will bring.

Thanks
Dylan
Old 06-20-2007, 03:27 PM   #2
Connie Morreale

Profile:
there was this exact question a few days ago. check out this thread

http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/24/42513.html
Old 06-21-2007, 06:59 AM   #3
Dylan Tate

Profile:
Hi Connie,

Thanks for the link, i read the other thread and it seems to be more about pacing. I'm more interested in the trade off between speed and weight used. Asuming i could complete the workout with both 45# and 95# where's the point where the higher weight takes so much extra time that its better to step down and move faster?
Old 06-21-2007, 08:32 AM   #4
Darrell E. White

Profile:
Dylan:

If you are able to do the WOD with the "as Rx'd" weight in a time that roughly approximates the average time you see on the comments then the prevailing thought throughout CF is that you should do it "as Rx'd" and work to decrease your time.