CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-12-2007, 06:24 AM   #1
Andrew Hendel

Profile:  
I am a PE teacher/crossfit trainer/football coach and I use the crossfit pilosophy as my curriculum. Here's my topic for discussion. I am always trying to convince my students that by doing kipping pull ups, HSPU, overhead squats, and any other compliment lift to the bench, will actually improve your bench. I swear my bench has never felt better even though I may bench 2x per month. Your testimonials will go on my message board for viewing. Thank you!
Old 01-12-2007, 07:07 AM   #2
Beau Bryant

Profile:
before CF:
180bwt
205 bench, worked bench at least once a week on the standard BB routine.
After CFing 6 months (not only WODS but also working gymnastic type skills)
192bwt
255 bench

I only bench maybe 2x a month a 5x5 max effort with DBs.
convincing some highschool kids this will work maybe more difficult. Good luck
Old 01-12-2007, 07:35 AM   #3
Matt Thomas

Profile:
Well. I don't know how much mine will help because I don't remember what my bench was before I started crossfit, but i've been doing Crossfit for about 6 months and I think i've benched twice in that time. Once because the WOD had it and the other to see what my bench was. I weigh 165 and my bench is 255. I can also do sets in the 20s with 135. These aren't huge numbers, but I'm fairly happy. The only lifts I do for chest are whatever the WOD says and on days when I want to work on strength I'll do weighted dips or weighted push ups, i'm sure those help.
Old 01-12-2007, 12:57 PM   #4
Herb Sampson

Profile: