CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-14-2013, 12:26 AM   #1
Alessandro Riente

Profile:
Supplements

Hello everybody, I'm a newbie in the crossfit world and for this reason I wuold like some suggestions about supplements.

I'm 23, 170 cm, 70 kg and I train 6/7 times a week, do you think supplements are necessary? If yes could you please tell me what I should take and mostly WHY?
Old 06-14-2013, 03:05 AM   #2
Thomas Mitchell

Profile:
Re: Supplements

Protein- muscle development
BCAA recovery- recover after intense crossfit workouts
Creatine- All around strength
Fish oil- all around good for the body especially heart

Look into crossfit articles
Old 06-14-2013, 03:20 AM   #3
jeramy park

Profile:

Do you have a problem with eating food or unable to meet your daily macro/micro requirements? If so you may need supplements. If not, it shouldnt be necessary.
Old 06-14-2013, 03:33 AM   #4
Jeff Enge

Profile:

It would be irresponsible to recommend supplements with so little information to go by.

What does your diet look like? If you get enough protein in your food, theres no reason to take whey. If you dont have some kind of fasting diet, you should be able to get enough BCAAs from a good whey supplement and not need an extra BCAA product.

What are your workout goals? If getting stronger isnt one of your main goals than spending the money on creatine and/or beta alanine is probably unneccessary.

Fish oil, however, is a pretty good general purpose supplement.
Old 06-14-2013, 03:44 AM   #5
Alessandro Riente

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Mitchell View Post
Protein- muscle development
BCAA recovery- recover after intense crossfit workouts
Creatine- All around strength
Fish oil- all around good for the body especially heart

Look into crossfit articles