CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 01-28-2010, 12:30 PM   #1
Casey Crooks

Profile:
Where to start?

Hey all,
ive been lurking the CrossPit page for a while, and it has really opened me up to a new area of sport. ive watched boxing and MMA for awile (who hasnt?) but i have no experience in any type of ?fighting discipline? if that is the correct term. i would like to start to learn.
my question is, what is a good place to start at? BJJ, greco wrestling, boxing, aikaido, what? i did wrestle in middle and some high school but thats all i have.
Old 01-28-2010, 12:40 PM   #2
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:
Re: Where to start?

I would say that finding a good teacher near you is more important than choosing a particular art. You don't yet know enough to know what style will work best for your body type and personality.

If you're interested in fighting sports specifically, you'll want to find a teacher who shares that interest. That will probably rule out many traditional martial arts, though not necessarily all.

Do NOT be impressed by the school with the biggest signs, the biggest trophies in the window, or the most exuberant promises of rapid "mastery." Those are often good indicators that the place may be more interested in taking your money than in actually teaching you anything. The best schools are usually pretty low key. (It's similar to the Crossfit vs. globo style difference.)

Katherine
Old 01-28-2010, 01:17 PM   #3
Matt Corley

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Crooks View Post
Hey all,