CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 08-09-2007, 07:48 AM   #1
Will Blankenship

Profile:
I've been lingering here for a while, but I've just started joining in on conversations.

Here's a quick break down... sorry so long:

I've been training and fighting in MMA since 1999... before it was really refered to as MMA. I started with boxing and Japanese Ju-Jitsu. Now I train in Muay Thai, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Kodokan Judo and Jun Fan JKD.

I WAS a bouncer at a club owned by my family. Back in November there was a huge fight involving roughly 16-20 people. After it was broken up and calm again, a guy came from behind me and hit me in the jaw, which dropped me to a knee. He took off running, I caught him across the street and proceeded to beat the soul out of him... and, in the process, broke my hand for the 2nd time. I stood up, spit out a mouth full of blood and went straight to the hospital. My jaw was severely broken. I ended up having 2 surgeries, 6 screws and 2 plates.

July 21st was my "comeback" fight. It looks like I didn't give the jaw long enough to heal. At the end of the first round, my opponent was in my guard, I shot for an armbar and didn't get it. Before I could recompose, I took a shot to the chin... I felt my jaw snap right away. Regularly it would have been one of those that you shake off and keep working, but not this time. I covered up, reached out and tapped. It broke in the same place as last time. I jumped in the car and made the 5 hour trip back home so that my Dr. could fix me up... choking on my blood the whole time. I ended up having surgery the next morning and now I have 2 new plates to add to my collection.