CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-31-2010, 04:48 PM   #1
Christian Holm

Profile:
Rounded back while doing light Deadlifts :(

I've been doing Starting Strength for two months and have increased my back squat to 200lb 3x5. However, I seem to have been having problems since the beginning with my Deadlifts. Right now I have worked to a 205 deadlift, pretty bad considering it is barely more than my squat. The problem is that my back seems to be rounding as I pull. I keep my head looking forward, and pull the bar up my shins, and set it down the way I've seen in Rippletoe's videos. My friend said my back also seems to be rounded even when I first take my position, so it might be a flexibility issue, even though I've never had a problem in that area before. My back has been a little bit sore for several weeks, I don't know if that contributes to my problem at all.
Old 03-31-2010, 05:37 PM   #2
Nic Kirkland

Profile:
Re: Rounded back while doing light Deadlifts :(

Back off the weight until you can get form right. And yeah, if you're not setting up right, that needs to be fixed first. Chest up and squeeze your shoulder blades together.
Old 03-31-2010, 06:09 PM   #3
Christian Holm

Profile:

I can't exactly see what I'm doing wrong, but my friend tells me my back is rounded even with lighter weights. He said he would post his description in a bit. I wish I could send you guys a vid, but I work out at 24 and I don't think they allow that.
Old 03-31-2010, 06:31 PM   #4
Aidan Macdonald

Profile:

I am the friend, let me expand

First off, his deadlift weight today was 205 for 5 reps while he squated 200 for 3 * 5 reps. So his weight is very low for deadlift. I don't watch every squat, but the ones I see are always below or at parallel.