CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 07-20-2005, 08:47 AM   #1
Kyle Short

Profile:  
I am still very new at CrossFit and yesterday's WOD was the first time I have ever deadlifted. In truth, it was also the first time I have lifted heavy weight aside from the occasional bench press at points in my life.

At 6'3" 188lbs, 26 years olds. I started with 200lbs. and worked my way up to 300lbs. at the end of the WOD. I think that I could have gone another 10 to 20lbs. if I wanted to. Today I have a little muscle discomfort in my lower back, but nothing unexpected.

What numbers should someone my size be striving for in DL? Is 300 to 320 in the right ball park or should I be striving for 400 or so?

Old 07-20-2005, 08:50 AM   #2
Troy Archie

Profile:
Whatever you can do, that's what Crossfit is all about. IMHO x2 body weight is a pretty good bench mark but I'm sure there's people out there that would scoff at that.
Old 07-20-2005, 09:08 AM   #3
Christian Hansen

Profile:
Pretty impressive for a beginner. I'm fairly new as well and about your size (6'4" 186) and topped at 245. I find heavy weights really tough to get moving.
Old 07-20-2005, 10:12 AM   #4
Chris Forbis

Profile:
I've got an injured back right now, but when healthy I pull around 310, at about the same size as you (6'3.5", 180 or so). Last time I deadlifted real heavy, it was the grip that gave out first.

Tweaked my back power cleaning last week, so I've been doing lots of back extensions and lighter weight DL (185) to work it back up.

The Hoffman standards are way up there... http://danjohn.org/goldsilver.html
Old 07-20-2005, 10:56 AM   #5
Lincoln Brigham

Profile: