CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-25-2007, 08:20 AM   #1
Kevin Edwards

Profile:
I have a question about which is more important. doing the wod or getting the proper amount of sleep(8 or 9 hours).
I work in a hospital OR and never know when my day will end.Sometimes I get home late or are to tired to do the wod.But in order to get up early I would only get 7-7 1/2 hours sleep.If I had to give up one ,which one should go .sleep or wod.
thanks
Kevin
Old 05-25-2007, 09:09 AM   #2
Connie Morreale

Profile:
7 hours sleep sounds like sleeping in to me!:happy:
Old 05-26-2007, 03:59 AM   #3
Chris Honnon

Profile:
I rarely if ever get 7+ hours of sleep. Even on the occasional weekend away from the kids my body is pretty much conditioned to waking up at 5:30am now because that's what I've taught it to do in order to work on my fitness with the least amount of impact on my family.

If I decided to work on getting more sleep instead of finding time to train I would certainly be better rested however I would still be mildly obese, have blood sugar problems, have trouble breathing when going up stairs, etc, etc, etc. I would be a mess but at least I wouldn't be tired!

Obviously this is different for everyone. I'm happy to forgo the extra sleep in order to partake in this transformation of my body. I'm confident that the long-term benefits of staying fit will far outweigh the long-term benefits of getting more sleep. This might not be the case for someone who is already somewhat fit, maybe there would be different priorities. Hopefully I'll know someday!

Chris

Old 05-26-2007, 04:44 AM   #4
Kevin Perry

Profile: