CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 07-13-2009, 09:25 AM   #1
Steven Webster

Profile:
front squat: no more passing out for me! FYI

Just over a year ago I started training front squats seriously. As the weights got heavier I started to feel light headed and seeing stars. On some attempts I would pass out during the repetition come around at the top then go for others, at which point I experienced the sensation of weightlessness. One day I attempted a heavy set and on the first rep I passed out and as I came around realized I had over 100kgs on my shoulders and it was rolling off. The weight clattered to the pins, I tried walking back but couldn't feel my legs and toppled over. This really knocked my confidence.

I posted a thread shortly afterwards on a site where people are really experienced front squatters. The conclusion was that I was holding the bar too close to my neck cutting off the air supply. Also breathing against a closed airway can result in loss of blood pressure. Hydration was also brought up, but this did not fix the problem.

At some point I worked out what was happening even though I still don't fully understand it. My flexibility not good enough to front squat. Not only was I coming onto my toes, which is definitely bad for the knees, but my spine was bending forward with heavy weights and the pressure on it was leading to loss of consciousness.

After working on my flexibility and really keeping perfect form I can finally squat right down without forward lean and keeping the weight on my heels. My squat is on the rebound and I'm no longer afraid to lose consciousness during the set.

It's really a mystery that this isn't more common- maybe I'm the only one, and I hope it doesn't happen to anyone else.
Old 07-13-2009, 01:57 PM   #2
Robert Callahan