CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-09-2004, 04:14 PM   #1
Ben Jackson

Profile:
My question regards the CF and leg mass and strength. I am still new to CF,and may be missing this. From what I've seen from the WOD, it seems that the legs are not emphasized nearly as much as the upper body. I know that there are the heavy days (3-3-2-2-2-1-1-1-1-1) of squat, deadlift, and clean/snatch squat, but it seems that a lot of the "leg days" are high rep body weight squats. However the upper body is stressed much more (with mostly bodyweight exercise).
I have only been doing CF for about four weeks now. My previous workouts were from John Davies (Renegade training), John DeFranco (Westside for Skinny Bastards), and a few workouts from college. Those workouts involved a lot more leg training and heavier weight in general. In college we did squats two times each week in addition to two days of the Olympic lifts including pulls from the floor.
I've been trying to notice if I have lost any size/mass. I think I have noticed a loss in my legs/hips, shoulders, and chest, but there has been a slight gain in back mass. My weight has stayed consistent or maybe gone up slightly. Call me a sissy if you want, but I like some size to my frame. I don't really like body building, but I do like to stand out in a crowd.
Does CF effectively train the legs for size & strength? Is CF mostly foccussed on being small & strong (kinda like Pavel "the skinny Russian"). What is CF's theory on leg training? Has anyone tried workouts by Davies, DeFranco, or similar; how does CF compare in your opinion? Does anyone perform extra work for strength/size for chest, legs, etc..? Any ideas & thoughts will help.
Sorry I was so long winded.

Ben
Old 08-09-2004, 07:49 PM   #2