CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 10-18-2006, 10:42 PM   #1
Cameron Mochrie

Profile:
I've been lifting off and on for the past 3 years (since starting college) and most recently since this may with some great results, but about a month ago I reinjured my left shoulder. I've always had pain and weakness in it, and it is the limiting factor for me in a lot of lifts (getting dumbbells off my chest or shoulders in bench/press).
I really injured it trying out my first WOD (Fran). Cleans seem to be the absolute worst for it followed by military press. The pain is centered in my anterior deltoid.

I essentially laid off it entirely, iced everyday and took ibuprofen like candy. As of now I have no pain when doing most of my excercises, but I still feel limited by it and am scared to start O-lifting.

Is there anything I can do to get past this weakness? High rows seem to hurt the most so I've been doing them with light weight (25lb plates on the small bar) in hopes that it will strengthen whatever tendon is causing me trouble. Am I on the right track?

thanks much.
Old 10-19-2006, 08:07 AM   #2
Jerimiah Childress

Profile:
If you can do the movement without agrivating the pain then your ok.

Here are some great articles oh how to train these muscles

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459577

http://www.elitefts.com/documents/throwing_athletes.htm

http://www.elitefts.com/documents/shoulder_rehab.htm
Old 10-19-2006, 08:37 AM   #3
Elliot Royce

Profile: