CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 04-26-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
Eric G Taylor

Profile:
Running a garage box

Well like everyone else I'm in the waiting pool to get an email from HQ. I'm giddy everyday waiting so its nice to read some of these threads and realize I'm not the only one. I do have a few questions tho.

So while I am in the holding pattern I figured to get my feet wet I would offer classes out of my garage which is where I workout at. I dont really know how to market it tho without advertising CF. I know that I can say I'm a L1 trainer but that's it.

Anyone else out there started in their garage and did the same thing if not simular to what I'm doing? What are some things I can do for marketing without shooting myself in the foot. I am currently on Active Duty in the Army so while I'm in I figured I would start extremely small and then by the time it's time for me to get out I could have found a space and moved in. looking to start in a space about 800-1000 sq ft and work from that for a few years or until membership grows. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Old 04-26-2013, 05:33 PM   #2
Rob Bousquet

Profile:
Re: Running a garage box

I had people in my garage for almost a year now. But I was not charging them and it was friends and family. I would think it would be easier to start with friends than outside marketing. Getting 1-2 people doing it and telling everyone about what they are doing should fill up 1000 sq/ft pretty quick. From my understanding just make sure you say and tell them to say you are L1 cert and working out in your garage. If you know the affiliate is going to happen soon you don't want to jeopardize it by doing something dumb now.