CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 01-02-2007, 09:06 PM   #1
Giles Clarke

Profile:
I am brand new to CrossFit, but am coming from a heavy triathlon background. With the variety of disciplines incorporated in these workouts what is the best type of shoe to be wearing? I am currently just wearing my old and beaten aesics running shoes, but I have read that running shoes do not give the appropriate support or alignment for activities such as squats or cleans.
There are so many different types of cross-trainers out there I don't know what to get. None of the stores I have gone to have been any real help and have just tried to sell me the most expensive thing on the shelves.
What is the best all-round shoe for this program? Thanks.
Old 01-02-2007, 10:01 PM   #2
Eugene R. Allen

Profile:
Anything without a run in it is up to you for what you feel comfortable in. But you are correct about your running shoes being inadequate. Cheap is the way to go here and one of the best things going is Chuck Taylors high tops by Converse. Very popular shoe in this crowd. Not very good for running but perfect for your CrossFit workouts.
Old 01-02-2007, 10:10 PM   #3
Travis Loest

Profile:
Giles,
I've found that for short distances run WOD, that I can get away with the addidas samba's, they're pretty good for lifting, with a fairly flat sole and all, but are more comfortable to run in. I don't use them for anything other than 400m runs, Now that I'm working out in my garage I will probably do my longer runs in "proper" running shoes and just kick them off when I have to lift.
Old 01-02-2007, 11:32 PM   #4
Jeff Dale

Profile: