CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 01-04-2011, 10:12 PM   #1
Luke Lehman

Profile:
Squating for the First Time

Hey Everyone. This is my first attempt at squating. I've done a couple workouts with the Smith machine about 6 months ago, but this the first attempts at free back squat. I've been reading SS and trying to watch videos online of proper form.

Here are my novice thoughts:
  • I don't know if the back rounding at the bottom is an issue or not.
  • I do notice though that I think I allow the weight to shift a little forward, which causes the knees to go a bit forward.

I've included the video of the Bench, just for giggles. I suppose it could be bad form...

In any case - thanks for checking the vids out.

WarmUp: Air and Bar (WFS)
WarmUp: 95x5 & 115x5 (WFS)
WorkSet: 135x5x3 (WFS)

Bench WorkSet: 185x5x3 (WFS) (only 2 sets in the video)
Old 01-04-2011, 11:08 PM   #2
Robert Fabsik

Profile:
Re: Squating for the First Time

Why aren't you squatting in your rack? Is it just for the camera? When the weight starts getting up there, I think using the rack and not walking around with the weight will be key. As you get closer to your limit strenght, you'll just want to take 1 step per foot out of the rack then squat.

In my mind, your rounding of the lower back isn't the worst. Start working on mobility/flexibility everyday focusing on the hammies/glutes/low back/calves. If you watch TV, its a perfect time to stretch. Also, for the rounding focus on the sense of an arch in your lowerback, doesn't have to be extreme.

On the free squats/air squats make sure you keep your chest up which will help keep the spine neutral.