CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-06-2007, 01:56 PM   #1
James William Goulden

Profile:
I'm a Personal Trainer and a fellow crossfitter.
I've followed crossfit for 2 months now and i have personally experienced increases in strength and endurance and i love the WOD's.
However i have also experienced increases in size and had a sharp gain in weight, going up 3.5kg's from 78.5 to 82kg in just 8 weeks, all of which is muscle. I was well built to start with and only 10% BF.
To add to that two of my clients who i put on a crossfit type program also had weight gains of 3 kg's in the 8 week period, again all muscle.
I would have guessed beforehand that with the high Rep ranges in CF that Muscle Gain (Hypertrophy) would not have happened...but it did.
I'm not complaining....as i look like a greek god :-)

My question to this discussion board is, have any others had similar results on the crossfit program.

Old 06-06-2007, 04:16 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
I wrote something about this last night in a big post on how to workout but I'll summarize it here --

"On the other hand though not going to failure can also be utilized well with endurance and metabolic conditioning. Again, with metabolic conditioning, if one stops short of failure, their work capacity for the workout will be increased and therefore allow them to complete it sooner. This increases the amount of work per the amount of time (e.g. total power output is higher). This is akin to a higher intensity because although it is not like a 1 RM exercise, the total intensity is distributed throughout the body more by different exercises instead. This is one difference where metabolic conditioning is more like strength than endurance."