CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-04-2006, 07:55 PM   #1
Chris Bonvie

Profile:
hey everyone,

Im new to the website and had some open questions to everyone. Ive been working out for a few years and started getting ver serious in the past few months, with changing my diet and lifestyle to suit my goals. I also do kickboxing and jiujitsu. I checked out this website because I need to change the direction my fitness is going. Before I wanted to bulk up, (I still do) but now I need to get into prime condition for some physical testing coming up in a few months. I was offered a position as a Search and Rescue Tech providing I pass all the tests. Here's what they look like:

SAR Tech Maintenance Test

Hand Grip Strength Test
20 metre shuttle run which increases tempo/pace every 30 seconds
Minimum Level 8
Maximum Number of non-stop push-ups
Maximum Number of sit-ups in 60 seconds
Lifting a 40kg weight from the floor onto a 1.5 metre high platform

SAR Tech PT Test

1.5 mile run (less than 10 minutes 15 seconds)
31 push-ups
33 sit-ups
8 chin-ups
450 metre shuttle run
2x 6 metre rope climb
All within 17 minutes

SAR Tech Swim Test
685 Metre swim

All within 20 Minutes

Now Im confident the WOD routine will help for sure, but Ive never been really big into cardio. I have a mountain bike I like to ride and I used to be a lifeguard, but Im just wondering if people have any suggestions as how to start some good cardio training. Im going to get a pool membership and start swimming again for sure for that last part. Im open to ideas, and look forward to hitting it hard!!!

Chris

Old 04-04-2006, 08:56 PM   #2
Eugene R. Allen

Profile: