CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 07-18-2005, 11:08 PM   #1
Kris Crowley

Profile:
I was able to use 95 lbs. for the thrusters, but there was no way I was able to do the sets unbroken. Being as this is my second week, I won't complain.

Should I have gone with lesser weight, though, is my question.
Old 07-19-2005, 02:00 AM   #2
Dan Silver

Profile:

I still can't do an unbroken Fran in anything close to a good time. Most can't really. One of CF's essential skills is work/rest management. There are two schools of thought on that matter but, if you are capable of finishing at full weight, IMO you should give it a go.

-D.
Old 07-19-2005, 04:46 AM   #3
Scott Kustes

Profile:
Kris, I've been doing Fran for 18 months and still can't finish in unbroken sets. The last set is usually unbroken...other than that, it's a trudge through the whole thing. Just keep at it. I'm with Dan...if you can use the full weight and get a hard metabolic hit (ie it doesn't take you 30 minutes to do Fran), then go with the full weight.
Old 07-19-2005, 06:30 AM   #4
Pat Janes

Profile:

2nd'd and now 3rd'd..(??)

Add me to the list of can't do it unbroken, but do it with rx'd weight regardless. I'm down to a reasonably respectable time even with unbroken sets, so the full 95# is the way to go.

"Fat Fran" on the other hand... well now, that was just embarassing.
Old 07-19-2005, 07:46 AM   #5
Mike Yukish

Profile:
I was able to use 95 lbs. for the thrusters, but there was no way I was able to do the sets unbroken. Being as this is my second week, I won't complain.

Should I have gone with lesser weight, though, is my question.

There was a video of Fran being done by a couple of studs, and they had broke sets. Or, at least one did.