CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-15-2008, 05:15 AM   #1
Grae Yohe

Profile:
How can I best train with a broken arm?

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the CF boards after a lot of lurking. I post a whole lot on the Men's Health board under the name "Heroin Bob" and have posted this same basic question there, but I wanted to get the opinion of CF folks who enjoy a challenge and never say die.

I've been training for about 14 years (I'm 31) and have been doing CrossFit workouts along with heavy Olympic and non-Olympic work for around 8-9 months. Leo Soubbotine of CF Evolution also posts at MH and was the one who got me to drink the CF Kool-Ade.

Here's what happenned: This morning, at the bottom of a 205 lb. clean, I struck my left knee with my left elbow and snapped my ulna as my forearm jammed between the weight and my knee. I'm now wearing a cast from the wrist to above the elbow.

I want to not just keep training for its own sake, but actually also use this opportunity to learn some new stuff that I wouldn't have done if I were still 2-armed. Trying to make lemonade out of these lemons.

What would you do? I'm thinking pistols and 1-arm pushups with the good arm for sure. Maybe DB snatches and some sort of 1-arm chinup progression. GHRs and back extensions for time? V-sits? How else can I attack this? How would you cobble together a routine for the next 2 months?

Thanks!
Old 01-15-2008, 06:05 AM   #2
Allen Yeh

Profile:
Re: How can I best train with a broken arm?

Sorry to hear about your accident, I've never heard of anyone doing that on clean in the manner that you did it! That is a great attitude to look at everything though.