CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-10-2006, 03:20 PM   #1
Jon McClure

Profile:  
I've been lifting for fifteen years now and have competed in powerlifting. Now I want to focus on conditioning and overall fitness while maintaining a good level of strength and even improving on some lifts I haven't practiced much before like hang cleans, snatches and powercleans.
I'm a victim of paralysis by analysis and I really can't decide how to structure my workout routine. I am thinking about the black box days or 5x5 to go with the crossfit workouts. I also like to mountain bike a few days a week for about an hour or two. The wod's seem to have a fair amount of lifting in them now, as if they are in a black box format. What are you guys doing with your training schedules in regards to adressing strength?

(Message edited by wvfitguy on May 10, 2006)
Old 05-10-2006, 03:39 PM   #2
John Seiler

Profile:
Jon,
I suffered from "paralysis" for five months before diving in. Doing just the WOD's and a few extra squat days, I've seen all aspects of my fitness improve; including strength (I broke a 7 year old PR on deads three weeks ago.) I'd see what 2-3 months of WOD's only does to you. Then you can accurately judge where you'd like to improve, where you feel the program is lacking for you, etc. Coming to Crossfit with a high level of strength, you might not need that much extra strength work to keep your "big three" right where they are. BTW, most of us do full-range "A to A" squats. Mentally prepare yourself for some discouraging poundages when you make the switch from a power squat. :happy: Welcome.
Old 05-12-2006, 10:21 AM   #3
Pierre Auge

Profile:
Jon,