CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 11-16-2004, 12:53 AM   #1
Andrew Gray

Profile:
I have never done cleans with dumbells before and I was wondering what the form looked like. When I went to try them today I first tried to do them the same as with a bar. That just doesn't work though. I ended up starting them on my sides, the handles poiting forward/backward. When I came up my arms were basically doing a curl motion except with a shrug and my palms facing in instead of up. I finished with dumbell handles still facing front to back. I have no idea if this is anywhere near proper form (or if you can even figure out what I mean with my explination). I just went with the motion that felt the most natural to me. If someone could tell me the basic proper form of dumbell hang cleans I would greatly appreciate it.
Old 11-16-2004, 02:47 AM   #2
Graham Hayes

Profile:
You already got it Andrew!
Old 11-16-2004, 06:39 AM   #3
Brian Gibson

Profile:
That's the way I did them. I was wondering the same thing. They also smoked me. I was wasted after 50 reps.
Old 11-16-2004, 11:11 AM   #4
Andrew Gray

Profile:
whew, ok that's good news. Those things are hard on the arms. It is much easier to get more of the load on your legs with the bar. Thanks for the info.
Old 11-16-2004, 03:13 PM   #5
Paul Theodorescu

Profile:
Anyone else feel heavy bicep involvement?
Old 11-16-2004, 04:13 PM   #6
Graham Hayes

Profile:
If you have the feeling of heavy bicep involvement then you need more pop(not soda) from your hips or more dip when you catch, probably both. I think heavier dumbells would teach this properly because you wouldn't be able to curl them so easy.
Old 11-16-2004, 04:35 PM   #7
Philip Mancini Jr.

Profile: