CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 05-17-2011, 03:29 PM   #1
Ben Allen

Profile:
Non-CrossFit Gym Doing Crossfit workouts

Is it legal for a non-affiliate gym with no crossfit certified trainers to advertise the fact that they do Crossfit?

They have not used the name Crossfit in thier Gym name but it clearly states on the website that they use Crossfit methodology.
Old 05-17-2011, 05:47 PM   #2
Brian Strump

Profile:
Re: Non-CrossFit Gym Doing Crossfit workouts

That is not legal. Even if the trainer is CF certified, without an affiliation they cannot market that they do CrossFit.
Old 05-17-2011, 06:04 PM   #3
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

From the FAQ:

10.18. If I do not want to affiliate but I am a certified CrossFit trainer, how can I use the name legally?
You can call yourself a CrossFit-certified trainer.
You can state that you are "CrossFit-certified" on your website and business cards.
You cannot use the CrossFit name, slogans, art work, photos, or content from the CrossFit Journal in any other business or promotional way unless you affiliate.
Only affiliation gives you the legal right to use the CrossFit name for business and/or promotional purposes.

But you said these guys aren't certified, so they can't do any of the above stuff. Somewhere on the mainsite there's a point of contact to report illegal uses of the name.
Old 05-17-2011, 08:53 PM   #4
Michael McMahon

Profile:

Is claiming you "do" Crossfit the same as stating that your methodology is derived from Crossfit? You stated both in your initial post and I see the two as very different. Legally does anyone know if they would be the same or is it the difference between saying you desgned a Ford as opposed to saying you designed a car inspired by a Ford?