CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 07-19-2006, 09:11 PM   #1
Matt Hulbert

Profile:
Ok, this is going to be long ... Sorry.

I was diagnosed as being hypoglycemic about 20 years ago (when I was a teen) and diabetes runs in my family.

I ignored it for years and then it occured to me one day that I'd been tired for about 15 years running. Then I started researching this whole hypoglycemia thing that I had been ignoring.

Fast forward to now. I've been eating low-carb for about 5-6 years. I started with Protien Power and have read most everything I could get my hands on ever since. I was eating around 70 net grams carbs a day before starting the Zone.

My blood work a few months ago had me with higher than normal blood sugar. This freaked me out some since I've been eating well for years. Because diabetes runs in my family my doctor hypothosized that I may end up with diabetes regardless of my diet.

I started the zone a couple months ago and I'm not sure it's working out right. I'm really busy between work and kids and all but I think I'm more tired now than I was when I was low carb.

I am interested in Zone for pre-diabetics and Intermittant fasting / diet solutions for people with blood sugar issues.

I'm 5'8" and 175lbs.
I work out with Crossfit 5 days a week or so. I'm just getting going so I can't quite do them as RX'd
My body fat is about 22%

My pre-zone staples are/were: meat (all kinds), full fat yogurt, protien mixes, low-carb tortillas (la tortilla factory, wheat based), cheeses, salads (tons of salads), strawberries, blueberries, fish (mostly white fishes) and lots of nuts, mostly almonds.