CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 10-22-2009, 08:48 AM   #1
Casey Crookston

Profile:
Marathon #1 was all LSD. Marathon # 2 will be all CF and CFE

Greetings!

Earlier this month I completed my first marathon... Twin Cities, and it was an incredible accomplishment. What a great feeling to cross that finish line!

I am 39 years old and when I started training I weighed 250 pounds (most of it NOT muscle) and had very high blood pressure. When I got married at 25, I weighed 190 and was in great shape, but over the years, the pounds have slowly been creeping up on me. The main reason I wanted to do the marathon was because I needed a goal that was physically challenging to get me back in shape, and I also wanted to do something that would give me a very real sense of accomplishment.

When I made this decision back in March, I looked over a lot of training plans (had never heard of CF or CFE at the time) and picked a 24 week long, slow building LSD program. As far as LSD programs go, it was just what I needed. Along the way I dealt with a few minor injuries, but nothing that was a show stopper. For one week I stopped running and used bikes and elliptical until my foot stopped hurting just under my left ankle on the outside. And, I also must say, in the days leading up to the marathon my right knee was giving me trouble and I was glad we were nearing the end.

On the day of the marathon I weighed in at 250 lbs. Yep, that's right. I didn't loose a single pound even though I had jogged over 500 miles to train for the marathon. That being said, my pants all fit a lot looser (to the tune of two inches or more) and my blood pressure had dropped well into the safe zone. But I was still baffled at why I had not lost any weight.