CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 12-28-2002, 12:24 AM   #1
Scott Parker

Profile:
i'm new to cross fit. i've ben checking out the site for a while now and how finally decided to start training using the crossfit method. i'm just not sure how to do the following exercises and see them a lot in the wod. any help would be greatly appreciated.

tabata squat
power clean
hang clean

just in casr you're wondering, i go to the gym regularly and have seen results, but for the most part have gotten bored with my normal routine eventhough i switch it up a lot, and honsetly think that the cross fit method will benefit me more in what i do because the movements mimmic more "real world" situations than simply moving weight on a bar up and down. i'm an ice an alpine climber that recently moved to the east coast to go back to school, and there really aren"t many mountains out here, and it's a haul to get to some nice ice!

i'm very excited to start working out with crossfit and any help/advice on getting started would be greatly appreciated!

thanks!
Old 12-28-2002, 07:45 AM   #2
Jeff Arms

Profile:  
Tabata Squat is basically a bodyweight squat done in intervals. Tabata is 20 seconds work followed by 10seconds off x 8, which is 4 min total. Try to average 15-20 squats per interval. Do a search on power clean and hang clean. I am sure you can find these on the internet.http://www.wsu.edu/~strength/pwrclean.htm http://www.biofitness.com/demo33.html Hope these help.
Old 12-28-2002, 10:47 AM   #3
Scott Parker

Profile:
so the tabata squat is just a regular squat done in that sepcific sequence mentioned above? thanks for the info!
Old 12-28-2002, 10:56 AM   #4
Scott Parker

Profile: