CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 01-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #1
Alexander Jon Smith

Profile:
Is surgery necessary?

I'm relatively new to crossfit, only been doing it for about 4 months now, and I was wondering how harmful it is on your knees. I have had a torn ACL for 8 years now and so far it has never affected my performance. I played two years of lacrosse, and three years of football with hardly any problems ever occuring with it, it never even really got sore. I've been lifting for a long time and that too has never bothered my knee's, but when my doctor found out I was crossfitting he almost blew a gasket and said I should have surgery and not be putting my knee's through that. To me it seems he just wants the money and my knee's have never bothered me, so what do you guys think? I dont see the need for surgery and I am willing to bet my knees are 10X stronger now than they were even fully healthy.
Old 01-13-2012, 05:12 AM   #2
Brian Strump

Profile:
Re: Is surgery necessary?

If I had to pick a joint that's 20x more likely to get injured doing CrossFit it's the shoulder.

I find that alot of our members, when programmed, and performed correctly will find less knee problems with CrossFit than before. Squats, DL, KBS, other core stabilization movements will do more harm than good.

He may be the same doc that says squating is bad for you knees, in which case, I'd find a new one.
Old 01-13-2012, 06:37 AM   #3
Steven Low

Profile:

Yes, exercise with correct technique will generally strengthen the knees even more rather than harm them.
Old 01-13-2012, 04:41 PM   #4
Aaron Gainer

Profile: