CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-30-2004, 12:43 PM   #1
jonathan rivers

Profile:  
I have been lurking around the message boards for a couple of weeks without posting. There is a lot of good advice, and information. I have been doing the WODs for 2 weeks now and I am addicted. Today I caught myself praying during the workout to help me finish. That is the sign of a good workout. I am very excited to be a part of this message board and way of life. Now since I am a newbie here is the question: What is the best way to do pullups if I cannot do one? What exercises should I be doing to get me to where I can do pullups? I did lat pulldowns today with as much weight as I could with strict form to simulate a pullup. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 09-30-2004, 01:34 PM   #2
Larry Lindenman

Profile:
Welcome Jonathan. Dump the lat pulldowns. There are numerous ways to help with pullups. A training partner could spot you and lift some of your weight, you could use a jump stretch band and tye it to the bar (kind of like a bow, your the arrow), you could start by putting both feet in the band (or rubber tube) then one foot, then BW pullup, you could pull a bench or chair next to the pullup bar and step up to the "up" position and slowely lower yourself to the start position, or use any combo of the above tips. WOrk this during warmups and as often as you can throughout the day. Good luck.
Old 09-30-2004, 01:37 PM   #3
Mike Yukish

Profile:
Don't forget to kip. Think full body dry heave, or salmon swimming up the rapids.
Old 10-01-2004, 08:26 AM   #4
David Wood

Profile:

I'm a big fan of the "negatives only" way to get to doing pullups.