CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 07-31-2006, 02:51 AM   #1
Joe Celso

Profile:
I was hoping one of the intelligent nutritional/physiology types here (I'm a bean counter) could tell me something about these drinks and their place in sport. Not having the science or knowledge base behind me... I am simply of the opinion that drinks like red bull and monster are simply not good for you, even dangerous, when used to provide/replenish energy needed for sport. Can someone back me up here with the "why?" I see too many people at the races drinking this stuff (marketed heavily towards us) and I don't want to see someone have a heart attack.
Old 07-31-2006, 05:06 AM   #2
Frank M Needham

Profile:
I'm no expert but the sugar content is horrendous, some of those drinks have 30gr/oz or more of sugar in them. That alone is a huge strike against them. Quite a few also have mega-doses of caffeine. No wonder you get amped on them and why they're so popular. To me, they're just a cheap source of false energy.
Old 07-31-2006, 07:45 AM   #3
John Bickel

Profile:
The British have started looking into Red Bull.

Their initial recommendations:
e) they should not be consumed in association with sport and exercise as a thirst quencher
f) they are unsuitable rehydration agents for use in sport and during exercise

They are also recommending to further investigate possible adverse effects of interactions between stimulant drink ingredients such as caffeine and taurine, and between such ingredients and alcohol, particularly under conditions of exercise and consequent dehydration through sweating.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland...red_bull.shtml

+++++++++