CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 02-19-2007, 08:56 AM   #1
Bill Russell

Profile:
I'm looking for feedback on considering 'problem locations' for CF facilities.

Every neighborhood seems to have that one house that sells more often than the others, and every town seems to have one or two commercial locations where businesses can never stay open very long.

As a business owner, I would tend to stay away from these apparent bad locations, regardless of the price. However, I am tempted (low price) by a few of these locations since Crossfit affiliates do not require prime spots.

One building is just downright ugly from the curb, but the location is fantastic. Another building looks cool, in the center of town, but the traffic patterns make it a pain in the butt to pull into(the primary reason why no retail business has been able to make it work). Then there's another at the end of town in a low traffic area, but everyone knows exactly where it is when you tell them the intersecting streets.

I'd appreciate comments for/against opting for a bad location vs. paying more for more attractive/convenient properties. Thanks!

Bill Russell
Future CrossFit Cleveland Affiliate :stirthepot:

Old 02-19-2007, 07:49 PM   #2
Steve Liberati

Profile:
I think CrossFitters care a great deal more about health and fitness than your typical gym-goer at your typical globogym. I'd bet most CrossFitters are more loyal and more willing to drive farther to workout. This means lower rent spots even in a remote locations, as long as it satisfies their fix (the WOD, community, etc) will not matter much. If the location is close and convenient just all the better - extra bonus!