CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 11-10-2011, 11:50 PM   #1
Skip Cooper

Profile:
One ring to rule them all...

I've always been kind of a DIY type of guy. From changing my own oil, to servicing and repairing the home AC, I feel a sense of accomplishment when I can complete a task without calling a "professional". Well, seeing as though I make my living repairing things and operating machinery, it only makes sense to me to attempt to be totally autonomous and self-sufficient.

Mainly due to the lack of funds, and partially due to my "cheapness" (my wife can attest), I have been researching different methods of making gymnastic's rings from PVC. I have a couple of questions that I hoped the CF community can help me with. I've exhausted an internet search and on this site and I can't seem to find some specific details. Maybe I'm overthinking it, though...

I'm looking for a standard width of the rings. I've found on the internet that the inner diameter, according to the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG), is about 17 centimeters (7 inches). But it does not state the width of the ring. From the tutorials I've seen on YouTube, most don't offer a size. One, maybe two, called for a 1 1/2 inch pipe (diameter). This seems awful big to me, but I have small hands. I asked my wife who was a gymnast and also coached gymnastics for years, but she wasn't sure. I think a 1 inch pipe is a good size and she agreed. She also said she thought that the rings were the same width as the high bar, but couldn't be sure since she never had to measure the bar--or the rings. Does the width of the ring matter so much? Should it be tailored to the size of my grip?