CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-12-2005, 09:16 AM   #1
Chris Quaintance

Profile:
Hey Folks-

I was wondering if anyone has some specific experience or relevant thoughts to my situation. Basically, I have been doing CrossFit for almost six months. Late last year, after one of the 10k's, I got inspired to register and train for a marathon. Don't ask me why!! Well, here we are and my race is 12 days away. I followed a pretty strict 16 week running schedule (for beginners) in addition to doing the WOD. It has been a pretty tough regimen for me.

Now that the race is so close, everything I read is calling for tapering pretty significantly for the race including dropping the cross training. Do you think it wise to drop Crossfit completely for the next week and a half? While I want to be as ready as I can for the race, I don't want to compromise overall fitness.

Note that I am a clydesdale: 6'2, 215. This running thing is new to me and only CrossFit has given me the confidence to get this far.

Any thoughts?

Thanks muchly.
--Chris
Old 04-12-2005, 09:21 AM   #2
Graham Hayes

Profile:
Yeah, if you want the best performance drop it. You're fitness won't be compromised by 12 days of not doing CrossFit. Follow the tapering advice keeping it light...your hard work will show on the race day!
Old 04-12-2005, 09:32 AM   #3
Lincoln Brigham

Profile:
I haven't done any endurance training since high school, but in weightlifting we usually start tapering 8-12 weeks out, not 12 days! :smile: