CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-02-2006, 11:13 AM   #1
Joel Guindon

Profile:  
First, I would like to say HI to all the CrossFit community and Happy New Year.

Second, here is my question: I have been trainning seriously for 2 years, mixing cardio and weights. I lost 35 pounds in 1 years. I am 35 years old, weigh 205 pounds at 6"2'. The cardio I do is a mix of "circuit training" and running...the weights are your regular "1 muscle group a day" spread out over 5 days. I've been doing programs based on strenght and endurance. I feel like I've hit a wall and want to try something new. I recently was told by a friend of mine who's been following the WODs on this web site and says "They are great".

I want to know if it's a stand alone trainning where I will still add muscle or I should continue the weights? I feel like doing the WODs, the weights and the cardio could lead to "over trainning"...So what are the recommendations?

To help you out in your recommendations: here are my goals:

1-endurance
2-strenght
3-add muscle, get bigger but not huge, I cannot compromise speed for weight.

I eat healthy, sleep 8 hrs per night and all around try to follow a healthy life style.

Thx for your time...

Joel

(Message edited by Recon_mp on January 02, 2006)

(Message edited by Recon_mp on January 02, 2006)
Old 01-02-2006, 12:31 PM   #2
Jesse Woody

Profile:
It is definitely a stand-alone training modality. Start slow and work your way up to 100% intensity on the WOD's, then if you feel the need, add some extra focus in the areas you'd like more work. Usually this is reserved for skill training (olympic lifting form or gymnastics) or playing a sport.

Old 01-02-2006, 12:49 PM   #3
Neal Winkler

Profile: