CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Competitions
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Competitions Competitions, contests & challenges

Old 08-30-2013, 03:40 PM   #1
Terry A Carey

Profile:
Dream of competing in the games at 60

Hi everyone,
I typically lurk around here with an odd post here and there. I find this a very supportive community so I am here for some advice.

After watching the 2013 Games I have the dream of getting there when I turn 60. I have been Crossfitting on and off for about 4 years. I say on and off a because in the winter I live in work in Vermont and until recently the nearest box was over and hour away. So every spring I start over! This year my plan is to get to the new box which is about 15 minutes away(yay),so there should be no pause in my training.

A little about me..57 year old female,successful competitive bodybuilder(those days are over) teach skiing to all levels and I am an avid runner. I have many weaknesses when it comes to CF but I know with the proper planning I can overcome them. Exactly the path I need to take is the issue. I need to get stronger,faster,improve technically,master du's,hspu's, butterfly kipping and the rope climb. At the box I am at now they do have a competition group but I would be a poor fit. They are all young and spry and I really don't think the coach is going to take me seriously. There are so many different variables here and I am not sure where to start. Any advice would be helpful. Below are some of my numbers...these are from the past 4 weeks after an 8 month layoff so they are not that impressive.

clean split jerk 98lb
squat 135 have not squatted in a year
deadlift 150
Not alot to go on...I will from now on record all my numbers