CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 11-11-2008, 04:49 PM   #1
Philip Rogers

Profile:
Too much fruit in paleo/zone diet?

Hello, my name is Phil and this is my first post here. I'm new to cross fit (1.5 months) and I've already shed nearly 20lbs and gained 8 reps on my pullups, and knocked over 3 minutes off of my 5k time! Incredible, but now I want more results and my diet needs to be cleaned up.

After watching a video in the Crossfit Journal about utilizing a Zone diet for best results with crossfit, I decided to give it a shot. I'm going to start with 20 blocks, but that just seems like a massive amount of fruit to consume to me. 180 grams of carbohydrates, all stemming from fruit. I'd think this would also include a lot of sugar and possibly hinder fat loss. Is there something I am missing here?

Do most strive for a paleo type zone diet, or do most crossfitters use a combination of complex carbohydrates (some grains, etc..) mixed in with fruits?

Thanks for any help,
Phil R.
Old 11-11-2008, 04:51 PM   #2
James Compora

Profile:
Re: Too much fruit in paleo/zone diet?

i use a combination of veggies and fruits for my blocks
Old 11-11-2008, 04:57 PM   #3
Philip Rogers

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Compora View Post
i use a combination of veggies and fruits for my blocks
Good point, I just noticed that 2 cups broccoli = 1 block, so I will look for some more dense veggies rather than trying to get 20 blocks of mostly fruit in per day. As much as I'd like to eat that much fruit, but I've been known to go on crazy food binges after too much fruit, probably from the sweet taste.

Thanks for the help.
Old 11-11-2008, 05:40 PM   #4
Zach S

Profile: