CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 09-24-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
Ryan Christopher Hutchins

Profile:
A question for Roger (Harrell)... or anyone qualified

I recently stumbled upon Crossfit. I think that this is exactly what i've been waiting for. If only i had found out about it years ago. Currently i train at a gymnastics gym. I'm 26 but i've had a deep love for all things gymnastics for a long time and now i've been training and conditioning for the events for about 4 months now. I breakdance and lifted weights before so i was a step ahead of most people doing what i do. Now i just want to understand how to put Crossfit , which is probably one of the most difficult and mentally challenging workouts around, and gymnastics together. Basically i wanted to know how a gymnast who is into Crossfit goes about his training and conditioning?
Old 09-24-2007, 09:05 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: A question for Roger (Harrell)... or anyone qualified

1. Warm up
2. Skill training
3. Strength (low reps, heavy weight)
4. Conditioning (metcon, endurance)
5. Static flexibility
Old 09-25-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Roger Harrell

Profile:

My conditioning was pretty CrossFit like prior to my exposure to CrossFit. This is a big part of why I was drawn in so readily. I have incorportated the O-lifts substantially into my training as well as utilizing weights far more than I used to. My personal program is still far more upper body and core focused than a generalized CrossFit program would be. I train gymnasts differently than I train other clients. The needs are different. I do the named WODs pretty regularly to set benchmarks and force myself to work my weaknesses, but most of my workouts are my own creation.