CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-16-2012, 07:57 AM   #1
Lyell Walker

Profile:
Im a Newbie and I Need Help (duh)

OK I saw the cross fit games on ESPN this past Sunday and I was immediately moved to try cross fit. I would love one day to be able to do the Fran. I workout on my own mainly cause I can't afford the $150 a month membership fee to the local CF gym.

background: 30 years old. 2.5 years ago i was 6'2'' 350 lbs. Today I'm 225. I lost most of that weight with lots of cardio and a little strength training. About a year ago i switched to more strength training and less cardio to build more lean muscle mass. Most of my lifting background is high school football. So a lot of squats, dead lifts, clean and jerks, bench etc etc. I still do a lot of those workouts but also do non CF exercises like bicep curls.

My question(s) is this: How do i incorporate the WOD's with my traditional weight training regiment? Should I lift first than do the WOD? If i want more endurance should I back off the lifting and focus on WOD's?

My goal isn't necessarily to be super strong. Been there done that. I love the Functional Movement aspect of CF but I also want functional strength. I am looking for more endurance and lean muscle.

I just need a little guidance on how to develop a routine. So please help!

Thanks,

Lyell
Old 05-16-2012, 08:05 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Im a Newbie and I Need Help (duh)

There's plenty of programs that integrate heavy barbell lifting with CF-style conditioning in a 3-5 day per week program. Check out CFFB, GSLP, 5/3/1, and conjugate CF for examples there.