CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 10-10-2011, 12:13 PM   #1
Bret Goldstein

Profile:
Question Coaching Line Blocking to 8 Year Olds

I was thinking of what group to ask about this issue and I felt that this group might be best in terms of what I was looking for.

I coach Pop Warner football for the 80lb tackle team where I live. I have been coaching for four years. I am running into an issue with our offensive line - both holding and sustaining blocks. Let me quickly digress because it will help you help me - I hope.

We were having problems with the interior defensive line. We were soft in the middle and teams were running through the A gaps pretty easily - even with kids lined up directly in the gaps. What was happening is the boys were coming out of their stance and essentially standing up and getting pushed out of the way. No matter what we tried we couldn't get the children to stop standing up. I saw it as a complete failure on my part. I believe in my heart that no matter what sport, if the child is dedicated and trying and yet failing - that the failure is mine and my fellow coaches. Something wasn't working and I couldn't get the kids to stay low.