CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 11-03-2009, 11:44 AM   #1
Collin Thompson

Profile:
In college - thoughts on crossfit as a career?

Hey all my name is Collin Thompson and I'm a freshman at Oregon State University studying Exercise Science, majoring in athletic training. I've been following Crossfit and the crossfit variations for a few years now, and I just absolutely love it. I just finished an intro class that gives all the EXSS students an overview of all the fields offered in the department and representative from each came in and spoke about their specific career and whatnot and none really intrigued me the same way the crossfit community has. I've been so curious as to what it would be like to own/operate a CF affiliated gym and/or work directly for Crossfit. Clearly the Crossfit industry has picked up some major momentum over the last few years, but will that continue? Is Crossfit something worth considering investing a lifetime towards? I've heard all the shpeel about people changing careers/occupations 4-7 times in their lives, but just for discussion-sake, does Crossfit offer a concrete career-path in the fitness industry?

Thanks so much for any feedback!
Old 11-03-2009, 12:10 PM   #2
Sean Dunston

Profile:
Re: In college - thoughts on crossfit as a career?

As a career, there's not a lot of money to be made in CF competitions... it is all about the glory!

Okay - in seriousness-
In my opinion, FITNESS is a very worthy and noble goal - and there is money to be made in the process of getting and keeping people fit. For any "career" choices though, you need to be PASSIONATE about it. if it doesn't light a fire under you - it isn't the right one.