CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-03-2007, 08:36 AM   #1
Timothy Walsh

Profile:
Shoulder Press

I have been doing CF for roughly 2 months now, and have done 2 CFT's in that time. I have added 30 lbs to my dead lift. My squat weight has not changed, however i am able to go much deeper for better form than before. My shoulder press on the other hand has not improved. I was struggling to get 125lbs up and failed 1/2 way through.

I was just wondering what i can do or practice to help improve on it. Should i just start adding shoulder presses into the CFWU when i can? My father offered a suggestion of shrugs.
Old 09-03-2007, 09:05 AM   #2
Elliot Royce

Profile:
Re: Shoulder Press

Push presses (dip before you push in order to get some momentum) then really focus on the negative movement.
Old 09-03-2007, 09:50 AM   #3
Theresa Meyer

Profile:

To get better at the shoulder press, you should perform the shoulder press. I also agree that related movements will help--push press, push jerk. Shrugs are very 'Weider-esque" and I would not do them to improve my shoulder press, but if it works for you, then go for it. I typically do some shoulder presses a few times a week after I've recovered from the WOD--about 10 minutes or so. Sometimes I mix in squats and deadlifts as well.
Old 09-03-2007, 10:04 AM   #4
Brandon Oto

Profile:

I've found at times that the WoDs didn't include enough shoulder strength work (especially if you can't do HSPUs) to make big gain. You can add it in...
Old 09-03-2007, 10:33 AM   #5
Wade Smith

Profile: